So…did I ever mention that my hubby makes children’s books? Well…he does (check out http://www.thedreamlandchronicles.com) and last night he was doing a Livestream and practically forced me into the headset to keep him company while talking to some of his readers…he’s not a very talkative kind of guy! Can I just tell you…I meet (and talk to) some of the nicest people online! Anyway…I guess we were getting hungry because we started talking about food…desserts mostly and then all of sudden we talked about swapping recipes! Some of the people thought we should do #twicipes…which sounds cute…but I’m not sure is practical since you only get 140 characters to tweet a whole recipe! So here we are…on my barely updated, mostly complaining about life Blog! I hope no one reads my previous posts…but here we are! Happy Fall everyone! I’ll start with this awesome pound cake recipe…but don’t eat it until the second day…wrap it up and put it aside so the flavors can gel together…trust me…it will be worth the wait! Get your tea ready!

Citrus Pound Cake

4 large eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon grated orange zest

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus more for the pan

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

2 cups all-purpose flour

Heat oven to 325 degrees F. Butter a 9-by-5 inch loaf pan. In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs, vanilla, and zests. In a large bowl, with an electric mixer on medium-high, beat the butter for 2 minutes. Add 1 1/4 cups of sugar and the salt and beat for 2 minutes. Slowly add the egg mixture. Beat for 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low and slowly add the flour. Transfer the batter to the prepared pan. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes. Transfer pan to a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes. Using a knife, loosen the cake from the pan. Invert it onto the rack to finish cooling. Serve how you’d like!

So there it is! It’s delicious!

Who’s next?

Happy Baking!

Donna

